RSS

Camp Hale Letters January 1943 is finished

18 Jul

I have just finished putting in all Dad’s January 1943 letters to Mother from Camp Hale. Dad is just about to get sick leave after spending 7 weeks in the camp hospital. Disillusioned with the lack of training and purpose in the 10th Mountain Division, he is determined to transfer to something where he will be able to actually participate in bringing the war to an early end so he and Mother can get on with their lives. He has spend his hospital time pursuing a transfer to be a navigator in the Air Corps and planning out a world tour for the Cunninghams and Pete Hurst and his possible wife.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2010 in Gerry and Ann Cunningham

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Camp Hale Letters January 1943 is finished

  1. Kathy Bannister

    August 2, 2010 at 10:01 am

    My Father and Mother, Harwood “Bill” Bannister and Nancy Bannister were friends of your parents during the War. Mother passed away in February 2009 and Dad this past February.

    I too have found all the letters my parents wrote each other during the War. Gerry and Ann are mentioned many times. Fondly.

    I am now in the process of putting the letters and pictures together.

    Sounds as if Gerry and Dad felt the same way about the War!

    Send me your email and I’ll let you know if I ever finish this project. I could send you some of the pictures and letters that mention your parents.

    How I came across this link I do not know!

    Kathy Bannister Sanders

     
    • Penny's Tuppence

      August 5, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      Kathy, this is the kind of serendipity that the Internet makes possible. Neither one of us would have done the research necessary to find each other in pre-computer days. I would love to read some of the letters you have–comparing their different experiences and perspectives would be fascinating. I will be trying to get a few more letters up each week. Once I get past the dates I have already transcribed it will be a bit slower. It is exciting to have a place to put them where they can reach a wide audience.

      Penny

       

Leave a Reply

 
