RSS

CSA Week 2 Fresh Dill!

27 Jun

We’re about halfway through week 2 of Grant Family Farms CSA, and I am slightly less than halfway through my share. The spinach is the easiest to deal with. If I can’t get through it as a salad green I cook it and a huge pile turns into one nice serving of vegetables. The week 2 share consisted of:

  • 2 heads of leaf lettuce
  • 2 big bunches of spinach
  • 1 bunch of fresh dill (my favorite in tartar sauce or tzatziki sauce, though I had to click on 5 recipes before finding one with dill at: http://kalynskitchen.blogspot.com/2007/07/worlds-best-tzatziki-sauce-recipe-greek.html.  I make my tartar sauce with equal parts of mayo and yogurt because the yogurt cuts any fishy taste. Tzatziki sauce makes a great base for tuna salad for the same reason–lower calories, too.)
  • 1 big bunch of cilantro, which all went to Janine and Louis because Barb and I really don’t like it. When I first saw it I thought it was broad leafed parsley, which I love–what a disappointment.

This week my daughter and a friend are visiting, so I’ll have no trouble eating it all.

Sorry, I can’t seem to get the link to kalynskitchen to be clickable. If anyone knows what I’m doing wrong, please send me a comment. Thanks.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
