RSS

Our first installment of CSA (Community Supported Agriculture)

19 Jun

CSA spinach with eggs--now why did I add that cheese? Unnecessary calories!

After reading an article about Community Supported Agriculture back in January, I went online and located Grant Family Farms, a CSA farm that has a large number of delivery sites all over Colorado. For those of you not familiar with the concept, CSA is an agreement in which you buy a “share” of the farm’s produce. You pay ahead of time, and then vegetables (and/or fruit, eggs, meat and poultry, and even baked goods, depending on the farm and your choices) is sent to you weekly. I e-mailed the farm, asking for an example of how much would be in the weekly delivery for a single share. Becky Jackson sent me the link to a blog in which one of their members had photos of his weekly shares: http://the300lbman.blogspot.com/ . Besides making my mouth water, the photos gave me something to show a few of my friends to see if they would be interested in sharing the share with me. It’s not that I don’t like vegetables, it’s just that I resist taking the trouble to cook them. I decided to give CSA a try, hoping it will possibly improve my eating habits. My friends have decided to participate in the experiment, so one weekly share will be split in thirds: 1/3 for me, 1/3 for Barb, and 1/3 for Janine & Louis.  If Janine & Louis decide they can use 1/2, then Barb and I will each get 1/4. Since both of us looked at our first batch and wondered if we could eat that much lettuce in a week, that will be fine with us.

After a few glitches, I picked up the first delivery on Wednesday. It consisted of:

  • 1.8 lb. huge spinach leaves
  • 1 bunch parsley
  • 1 head butter lettuce
  • 1 head green leafy lettuce
  • 1 small bag (2.5 oz.) mixed young greens
  • 1 bunch cilantro, which I gave to another member.

So far I have learned two things: first, find out what everyone’s preferences are. Cilantro is one of the few things I really don’t like, and I was pretty sure Barb had told me the same thing, but I didn’t know about Janine & Louis. After I told her about the cilantro, Barb went on the Grant Family Farms website and printed their list of vegetables, marking in red those she didn’t want and making additional comments. I’ll ask Janine & Louis to do the same.

My second piece of learning came when I tried to sort and divide up the lettuce. I ended up stuffing each of the other two portions into one of those flimsy grocery store produce bags, which wasn’t very satisfactory. Then it took two days for Barb to get hers, and three days for Janine & Louis. Therefore we need to figure out the logistics of dividing, packaging, and redistributing the vegetables.

How would I rate this week’s experience? Logistics, C, but satisfaction, A+. I have already gladly eaten three salads and scrambled some eggs with the spinach. That’s more vegetables than in the whole month of May.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
