RSS

Posting frequently? Not so much in my harried life!

11 Jun

I think it will take me a while to get in the habit of frequent posting. After the TNT training hike last Saturday I meant to post right away, and here it is Friday night and I’m just getting to it. Right now my life is pulling me so many different directions. My house looks like the aftermath of a tornado, and I’m trying to  make some progress on it. The jigsaw puzzle I bought right after Mother died a year ago (good memories of doing puzzles together and, wonder of wonder, Dad actually joining in the last few years) was still unfinished until last night. The summer program I am teaching for English language learners is well designed, but takes some preparation if the student’s sacrifice of summer hours is to be worthwhile. And my LLS Team in Training fundraising needs more time if I’m going to meet my goal. Unpacking? Well, even if I managed to put away all the things I brought back from Arizona, I still couldn’t put the car in the garage. There are a few more loads to take to my daughter’s rented storage, and more boxes from school, always a summer problem.

However, I’m going to continue to try to develop the habit of frequent postings. So many books and articles on writing say that the only way to become a better writer is to write, write, write. The difference between trying to do that in journals, whether paper or Word documents, and a blog is that a blog has the potential to provide an ongoing audience, which is intriguing and motivating. Are all the books being overly optimistic when they say, “If you write it (often enough) they will come”? In order to find out, I have to write often enough. So tomorrow I will write another post, probably about our predicted chilly and soggy hike.

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
