RSS

Welcome to my new blog.

23 May

“I’ll get down off my soapbox now.” That is how I end many of my conversations with friends. I finally realized that a blog is a soapbox–one where the audience is voluntary, and I can say things once and be heard by many. A few of the topics for which I am known to have soapbox-worthy thoughts and opinions include education, libraries, books, and the life experiences of those of us with retirement in sight but still a ways off. It is also a place where people can follow my longer term projects and activities. Right now the most significant one is my participation in the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training. If you have arrived at this site from my original “Penny’s Tuppence” blog you know that I started out training for a century ride–that’s 100 miles on a bike. A broken thumb set me back too much to continue that one. (I know it sounds silly, but I couldn’t do the grip-and-twist motion of shifting with my left hand.) I am now training for a hike in Zion National Park. As of this posting I haven’t personalized my web site, but you are welcome to visit and donate! The URL is http://pages.teamintraining.org/rm/zionpark10/pcunningha   I will be personalizing my site soon.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
